Preservation Boost for Historic Moriches Home


The Hawkins House in Moriches | Robert Chartuk

The Mastic Peninsula Historical Society’s effort to restore the historic Hawkins House believed to be the oldest home in Moriches, received a boost with a recent $4,000 grant. The funds from the Preservation League of New York State will be used to conduct a Limited Condition Assessment, a key step in preserving the Colonial Era structure. 

Built between 1790 and 1830, the house is a classic example of Federal-style architecture, a design closely tied to America’s fight for independence. The property has a rich and intriguing history, with ties to prominent historical figures and early local families.

“We were thrilled to receive the $4,000 grant from the Preservation League, which will allow us to finally begin the process of saving this architectural treasure,” said Gary Ollett, President of the Mastic Peninsula Historical Society. The assessment will be conducted by preservation architect Zachary N. Studenroth, who will evaluate the structure and recommend a plan of action for future restoration efforts.

The home is linked to a fascinating historical mystery involving past presidents. In 1791, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison visited the Moriches area and reportedly stayed overnight with the Hawkins family. However, the exact location of their stay remains uncertain, according to society member Maura Feeney. They had bought the property two years before from James Downs. William Hawkins, a brother of Captain James Hawkins, built the house in 1790, according to research by Ed DeGennaro, a former society president.  

Further cementing its historical significance, the nearby Hawkins-Downs Cemetery on James Hawkins Road holds the gravestones of family members, some of whom served in the American Revolution, who once lived in the area. This enduring connection to early American history underscores the importance of property and the urgent need to preserve it. 

Although wooded now, the land was farmed until the 1960s and still contains outbuildings, including a loom room and cow pens, which the society is also looking to preserve as part of an early history museum. A significant crop was flax seed, which was used to make linseed oil. A Hawkins son, Zackary, ran a mill at Carman’s River. It was during the war that Zachary took in the cattle of Col. William Tangier Smith when British troops occupied the Manor of St. George in Mastic, recounted the society’s secretary, Mike Lubrano.

The property was previously shared with an old school house, which was moved further down Montauk Highway and used by the Center Moriches district. Suffolk County purchased the historic site from the sisters of a man who had purchased it from an original Hawkins family member. 

The Preservation League’s Technical Assistance Grant grants program aims to support critical historic preservation projects across the state. Jay DiLorenzo, President of the Preservation League, emphasized the significance of these awards: “Through partnerships with various arts and cultural foundations, 20 projects representing 13 counties were selected by an independent panel of preservation professionals, with a total of $75,290 awarded.”

For the Mastic Peninsula Historical Society, this funding marks the first step in ensuring that the Captain J. Hawkins House—a link to both local and national history—can be stabilized, restored, and appreciated by future generations, President Ollett noted. 

The historical society welcomes donations to help preserve this community treasure, which can be sent to Box 333, Mastic, NY 11934. 


Organizations Included in this History


Daily Feed

Sports

Heavy Police Presence at William Floyd Varsity Girls' Track Meet

As more and more attention has been thrust upon the William Floyd Girls’ Track Team, so has the caution within the William Floyd School District.


Local

Muslim Cemetery on Hold for East Moriches

Town hears it from residents, puts Muslim cemetery on hold pending further review.


National

After the Inferno: A Reporter’s Dispatch from the Ruins

After the Flames: South Shore Press Reporter Robert Chartuk Walks Through the Wreckage.